The Rule of St. Benedict

“Listen, O my son, to the precepts of thy master, and incline the ear of thy heart”

The Rule of St. Benedict begins with these words. Ears and heart are open to hear what Benedict and our fellow humans would like to say to us. This approach is found throughout the entire Rule: to listen, keep silence, be obedient, humble – all factors that are central to living respectfully together in a loving community.

A compact, clearly structured handbook

Much has been written about the Rule of St. Benedict. One thing is certain, it as meaningful today as 1500 years ago. Benedict lived at the end of the 5th and the beginning of the 6th century, in the midst of the transition from the Late Antique period to the Early Middle Ages. It was a time of turmoil and uncertainty. When he wrote his Rule, Benedict wanted to provide orientation and support.

The Rule is a small, practical handbook that achieves great things. In its 73 chapters Benedict lays down the rules for everyday life in a monastic community: behaviour towards fellow brothers and sisters, communal prayer, hierarchal and democratic ground rules, association with the outside world. He talks about human failings and human greatness, placing humility in a central position. With its clear text and discretion the Rule has lost none of its meaningfulness, even in today’s world.

The Rule of St. Benedict is nowadays followed and studied not only behind monastery walls but also outside. Books about management and Benedict are much in demand. The Rule is written for a community of people and contains instructions that can be followed within the family, at work and in free time activities.

Rediscovering the Rule day by day

In his commentary, Georg Holzherr, former abbot of Einsiedeln, compares the Rule of St. Benedict with a vintage red wine that one savours in small sips so that it can be fully appreciated.

In Benedictine convents the Rule is read every day, but always just a few paragraphs at a time. In this way the nuns can fully acquaint themselves with the message of St. Benedict. Each reading provides new insight into the Rule of St. Benedict, has a motivating influence and gives inspiration.

Die Regel des Heiligen Benedikt

„Höre mein Sohn, auf die Weisung des Meisters, neige das Ohr deines Herzens.“

Mit diesen Worten beginnt die Regel des Hl. Benedikt. Ohr und Herz sind geöffnet, um zu hören, was uns Benedikt und unsere Mitmenschen sagen möchten. Diese Haltung zieht sich durch die ganze Regel hindurch: Hören, Schweigen, Gehorsam, Demut sind zentral, um in einer Gemeinschaft respektvoll miteinander in Liebe leben zu können.

Ein kompaktes, klar strukturiertes Büchlein

Über die Benediktsregel gibt es sehr viel Literatur. Sie ist heute aktueller denn je, auch wenn sie – oder vielleicht gerade weil sie – vor 1500 Jahren geschrieben wurde. Benedikt lebte im ausgehenden 5. und beginnenden 6. Jahrhundert, inmitten des Übergangs der Spätantike zum Frühmittelalter. Es war eine Zeit voller Wirren und Unsicherheiten. Mit seiner Regel wollte Benedikt Orientierung und Halt geben.

Es ist ein kleines, praktisches Büchlein, das Grosses bewirkt. In 73 Kapitel regelt Benedikt den Alltag im Kloster, den Umgang mit den Mitbrüdern und Mitschwestern, das gemeinsame Gebet, die hierarchischen und demokratischen Grundsätze, die Beziehungen nach aussen; er spricht über menschliche Verfehlungen und menschliche Grösse und setzt die Demut an zentrale Stelle. Ihr klares Wort und die massvolle Unterscheidung sind u. a. ausschlaggebend dafür, dass die Regel auch heute noch nichts an ihrer Aktualität eingebüsst hat.

Die Regel des Hl. Benedikt wird heute immer mehr nicht nur hinter Klostermauern gelebt und studiert, sondern auch ausserhalb. Bücher über Management und Benedikt haben Hochkonjunktur. Die Regel ist für eine Gemeinschaft von Menschen geschrieben und enthält Weisungen, die in Familie, Beruf und Freizeit Anwendung finden können.

Die Regel immer neu entdecken

Georg Holzherr, ehemaliger Abt von Einsiedeln, vergleicht in seinem Kommentar die Regel des Hl. Benedikt mit einem alten, schweren Rotwein, den man nur in kleinen Schlucken geniesst, damit er sich auch richtig entfalten kann.

In den Benediktinerklöstern wird die Regel täglich gelesen, aber immer nur in kleinen Abschnitten. So können die Nonnen die Worte Benedikts verinnerlichen. Die Regel des Hl. Benedikt eröffnet bei jeder Lektüre immer wieder neue Erkenntnisse, schenkt positive Impulse und gibt Inspiration.